Helen B.

Helen B.

£30 per hour

Experienced teacher (PGCE, QTS, Teach First) and University of Cambridge English Literature graduate with 4 years' experience teaching and private tutoring.

• Successfully prepared students for admission to study English at Cambridge.

• Prepared pupils for 7+, 11+ and 13+, including successful admission to Dulwich College, SPGS, Charterhouse and UCS.

• Tutored maths from primary to GCSE and AS Level (including As and progress from D to B), French and Science to GCSE (including A results) English Language and Literature from primary to A-Level (including A* results and excellent progress for lower ability students).

With my experience teaching in challenging London primary schools, as well as teaching refugees from 6-36 in Greece and training/mentoring teachers, I have an excellent track record of students achieving above-expected progress. My students are incredibly diverse, so I have a broad repertoire of strategies to draw on when tailoring my teaching to each individual.

Calm and friendly, I have extensive experience working with students with English as a second language, Special Educational Needs (inc. autism, dyslexia, global delay) and mental health issues.

I believe that the key to my students improving is building their confidence and enjoyment of a subject. I start by developing a relationship with them, working out what makes them "tick", so that I can devise the best way to engage them with a subject. I enjoy the challenge of making a maths lesson as creative as an art lesson and as thought-provoking as an English lesson!

Meanwhile I use my experience and in-depth curriculum knowledge to assess needs and devise a work plan with clear, attainable targets and a time-frame to ensure I get you to where you need to be. As a primary specialist, I have a firm grasp of pedagogy in a range of subjects, which I apply to all levels of study.

I currently tutor part-time while coordinating educational projects for refugees in Greece. In my spare time I love listening to and playing music (piano, guitar, singing), reading, writing and wild swimming.

Footer Graphic