Jessica S.

Jessica S.

£18 per hour

Hello, My name is Jessica as I am a 27 year old graduate from Manchester. I currently live in Leigh and I offer science tutoring from home for students between the ages of 11-17. I used to teach GCSE science in a Wigan high school (I am DBS checked and have a certificate in safe guarding children) but since having my son, I now work from home. Ideally the students would come to me to help with my flexibility around my son.

I have always been interested in academia and although I feel it is also important to nurture creativity I do believe a good education is important from the very beginning. There is always more to do, more questions to ask and more things to learn. Education needn't be boring, you just need to find the thing that sparks you imagination. As I am very passionate about science I hope I come across sincere.

I have a large knowledge of the national curriculum, exams, equality, inclusivity and diversity. I also have many science books which my students are more than welcome to borrow. I have a printer, scanner and other resources that I use so your child doesn't need to bring anything but themselves! I have many parents who drop their child off and come back to collect them, and a couple if parents who stay for the sessions. Whichever is better for you is absolutely fine.

I would recommend a trial session of an hour. After that sessions as usually an hour, an hour and a half or 2 hours per week. I'm fully contactable in between sessions so if you would like any additional work or resources sent, just ask. I can also provide homework and exams if requested.

I find it very important to find out how each individual prefers to learn in order to get the best from them and so my first session is quite relaxed. I like to know what they feel they need help with and why so I can incorporate this into our following sessions. I do ask quite a lot of questions but just so I know how best to teach. But after that initial sessions it's down to work!

A little about me: Whilst in High School I obtained 13 A - C grade GCSEs, I then went onto college where I gained distinctions in every subject I studied. More recently I graduated from University studying a Combined degree in Human Resource Management and Forensic Science. My dissertation subject was in Blood Pattern Analysis. It was shortly after this i decided to go into teaching. I'd say biology is my favourite science but I have recently started to become more interested in chemistry, too.

Since graduating I have completed my teaching assistant level 1, 2 and 3, special educational needs diploma level 2, 3 and 4, an autism awareness diploma, an ADHD diploma, a dyslexia diploma and an early years Foundation stage teaching diploma as well as my first aid qualification and key skills 1 and 2 in English and 2 in maths.

I have friends who are teachers and friends who are private tutors and so I have a great support network and we regularly share ideas on how to improve our sessions.

Although I have my own ideas and plans I always teach from the AQA curriculum. If there is anything you would like me to include that is outside of the curriculum please let me know and I will do my research and make sure to include this in my lessons.

I know how important it is to be able to trust someone with your child, but I can assure you as well as my educational background I also have a great background with children and have a young son of my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile, if you have any questions at all please do get in touch.

Many thanks, Jessica.

Footer Graphic