Olivia B.

Olivia B.

£20 per hour

My name is Olivia and I have been tutoring secondary school students for over 5 years. I have an MA degree in European Studies, History and Culture and a BA in Languages & History from UCL. I am passionate about education and want to pass on the knowledge and experience I have gained to students to help them reach their academic potential and do well in their exams, as well as give them a greater interest in the subjects themselves.

My approach to tuition is two-fold - I always have high expectations of my students as I wish for them to succeed. Therefore, I will always set a homework task to help consolidate what we have covered in the session. I also believe that it is important to engage with the student, to actively discuss their understanding of what they are studying to ensure any gaps in knowledge or skills can be covered from a perspective that will help them to unlock their potential and perform well. Therefore, I always try to ensure the sessions work with the student's method of learning, which I ascertain from the first lesson through an informal but informative discussion of their individual needs.

My areas of expertise include private tuition (both face-to-face and online), academic mentoring, proofreading, transcription and research services.

Subjects I offer for tuition: Key Stage 3/GCSE: English language, English literature, French, Biology,History, Religious Studies, Russian, Polish. A Level: History, Government & Politics, Classical Civilisation, French, Russian.

I am familiar with the syllabuses of most of the exam boards (OCR, EdExcel, AQA), including the new 9-1 GCSE specifications.

Footer Graphic