Polly  C.

Polly C.

£20 per hour

Hello, I am Polly. I'm a second-year medical student studying at the University of Southampton. In the last few year's I have been tutoring students in preparation for their exams. I have worked with students from age 11-18.

Qualifications: Student at Wellington College GCSE: 12 A*-B grades A-level: 3 A's (Biology, Chemistry, Maths) Currently Medical Student

I focus upon targeting problem topics and cementing exam techniques in preparation for exams. In our first session I will ask which specific topics are an issue, and then there will be a short assessment of the student's current understanding. We will then focus on explaining concepts and exam questions. Often it is entirely about confidence in a topic and that is something I aim to give all of my students.

I am dyslexic and found the way concepts were taught in class was sometimes not logical for me and confused my understanding of a topic. I was lucky and had very patient, understanding teachers who went out of their way to explain concepts in a way that made sense to me. This is what made all the difference between the D's and E's I was achieving and the A's I ended up getting. It has made me aware that everyone learns differently and I will work hard to make sure that the way I am teaching is suited to that student specifically.

I am also happy to help students who are intending to apply for Medical School. I appreciate that it is a very difficult university place to acquire and the competition for each place is increasing every year. I would be happy to read through personal statements and give advice for acquiring work experience, as well interview preparation. Medical school application preparation is often something schools do very well or very badly and I believe that every applicant should be judged on their merits as a student and a communicator. I will aim to make that application process a little less daunting.

I am happy to do one off sessions, as well as series of sessions depending upon the students need. I am available for tutoring throughout the week but also as weekends.

I look forward to working with you and your child.

Footer Graphic