Rana A.

Rana A.

£65 per hour

I am a qualified and experienced teacher with a PGCE in Primary Education from the Institute of Education. I have over 15 years of teaching experience: 5 years as a Y4 & Y5 class teacher in a London primary school and 10 years as a private tutor in Primary Maths, English, Verbal/Non-Verbal Reasoning, 7+, 8+ and 11+. I have tutored pupils for 7+/8+ to Latymer Prep, Bute House, St Paul's Juniors and 11+ for Latymer Upper, St Paul's, Godolphin & Latymer, City of London School.

I thoroughly enjoy working with children and have an excellent rapport with my pupils. I have helped speed up my pupils' academic progress significantly. I have a versatile teaching style and am flexible and patient in my approach in order to work out pupils’ needs and learning abilities and so adapt my lessons accordingly in order to build their confidence and accelerate their learning. I lead my pupils with step by step probing questions so that they may reach the desired answers themselves. This way they retain more of what they learn and gain even more confidence in their own ability, paving the way to becoming successful independent learners. I value the importance of encouraging a positive, motivated attitude and a love of learning.

I spent my early years in London then moved to Wentworth, Surrey for secondary school at the Marist Convent. After completing my French, Italian, Pure Maths and Statistics A levels I went on to do an Italian degree at UCL. I then worked in the City for the few years before I decided to do a Post Graduate Certificate in Education to go into teaching. After 5 years of classroom teaching I went travelling around Central and South America. On my return to London, I started tutoring children in Primary subjects. I then got married and moved to the USA where I tutored some more. I am back in London and work in Accounts part-time and tutor the rest of the time. I love working with children having the opportunity to build their confidence and instil a love of learning so that they may excel in whatever they choose to pursue.

I love travel! I have traveled extensively (both for work and leisure) throughout Europe, North America, Latin American, Asia and Africa. I have spent a significant amount of time in Italy, France, Guatemala and Rwanda teaching. I enjoy being immersed in new cultures and exploring new places. I love the outdoors: hiking, camping, trekking, horse-riding. I like to take up challenging activities, like completing a Half Marathon to help raise money for various charities and initiatives. I am fond of hors-riding, I especially enjoy riding holidays; exploring the Chilean countryside on horse-back was magical.

Testimonials ''It is a credit to your skills that the class has always remained fully functional, interesting and an exciting place to spend time.'' (Chair of Governors, St Francis of Assisi Primary School)

''Thank you for your hard work, patience and kindness to Anna, you have really helped her during a very hard and stressful time. She really enjoys having her lessons with you.'' (Mother of 8 year old girl).

“The lessons are progressing well and Xan likes Rana very much and responds well to her. So all positive! (Mother of 10 year old boy).

"You have a wonderful manner with Chloe, firm yet very kind and encouraging." (Mother of resistant 9 year old girl).

Subjects

Specialisms

Footer Graphic