Sophie A.

Sophie A.

£27 per hour

I have over 4 years of tutoring experience and in the past 2 years that I have been tutoring I have amassed over 1000 hours of mainly one-to-one, but also group, tuition. As a keen dancer in my youth, my first foray into tuition came when I began leading tap and ballet lessons in my late-teens. Most of my time tutoring is now spent teaching English Literature and Language to A-Level and preparing students for entrance exams; I have successfully prepared students for the 7+, 11+ and Common Entrance exams, having had students of mine gain places at a number of notable independent schools in Surrey including St John’s, Cranleigh, Ewell Castle, St Catherine’s, Tormead, Guildford High School, St Theresa’s and the Royal Grammar School Guildford. I have also tutored students to success in their KS1 and KS2 SATs, GCSE Spanish and have spent several months teaching English to children in Peru.

I believe that private tuition should offer students a very different experience to the teaching that they receive in the classroom. It is an opportunity for students to receive a more bespoke education, tailored not just to their educational requirements, but also their personalities. I avidly believe that so much of a student’s learning and enjoyment of a subject is related to how confident they feel in it, so I place a lot of emphasis on building up my students’ confidence in themselves as well as in their abilities. As an alumna of Hurtwood House school, I myself benefitted from an individualised education and I am very much of the opinion that learning should be stimulating, absorbing, creative and focus on a subject’s real-life application. In addition to achieving my impressive academic record, I balanced my studies with pursuing a career as a young actor. My work in the theatre and on screen has not only deepened my love and appreciation of dramatic texts but helps me to engage my students creatively by firing up their imaginations.

I am a graduate of King’s College London, having read English Language and Literature there. I spend my free time enjoying the arts, specifically theatre and film, yoga, dance and as an ardent foodie I can often be found exploring the culinary delights of London; while when I have a little extra time on my hands I am a keen traveller. I speak Spanish, conversational French and I am teaching myself a little Italian.

Footer Graphic