Sebastian W.

Sebastian W.

£30 per hour

I was born in Regensburg, Germany and grew up in Penang, Malaysia. After completing high school (IGCSEs) and the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma, I worked at North London Collegiate School Jeju, South Korea for six months as a teaching assistant. After this I attended the University of Melbourne in Australia for my three year undergraduate degree in Environments, majoring in Environmental Geographies, Politics and Cultures. During this time period, I also completed an intensive Mandarin language summer programme at the University of Hong Kong and taught English in rural Thailand during university holidays. I am bilingual, speaking English and German fluently and also speak a bit of Malay, French and Mandarin. I enjoy exploring new places and cultures and am fascinated by languages. I thoroughly enjoy tutoring and teach with a passion.

My personal approach to tutoring:

Building a strong working relationship and trust between the tutor and student is very important, and being easily approachable is a vital characteristic a tutor should have. Some students may have just lost their inspiration to learn and so it is the tutor's job to motivate and inspire them. It is important the student is guided on an individual-based level and encouraged to actively engage and think, making links with information explained to them, and not spoon fed. I believe i can bring international experience and diversity to the students i tutor. Especially applicable to Geography, my lessons have a strong focus on exam technique and effective exam preparation.

My Experience:

  • A2 and AS Geography (AQA, Edexcel, WJEC)
  • GCSE Geography (AQA, Edexcel, OCR)
  • University level Geography
  • German - all levels including complete beginners and adult learners.

I am currently working (part time) as a Geography teacher in two private sixth form colleges in Ealing, London and St Albans. I teach both A-levels and GCSEs. I have experience of teaching the following exam boards: AQA, Edexcel, WJEC and OCR. Importantly, I am familiar with both the old and new specifications.

I tutored AS and A2 Geography (WJEC Board) at Uxbridge High School in preparation for their exams in June 2016.

I have been working as a private tutor for five years now, alongside my degree in Australia, as well as after, both in Australia and now London. I have had a very large and diverse range of clients. I have tutored university students in Geography and have guided them through essay submissions and exams.

I have also taught on an international level at North London Collegiate School, Jeju, South Korea (as a teaching assistant) and in rural Thailand (as part of a university project).

Subjects

Questions

Footer Graphic