Tom W.

Tom W.

£40 per hour

About Me: I am a dynamic and experienced Maths and Science tutor recently finished studying a Masters in Aeronautical Engineering at Imperial College London. I'm based in London but also travel to Oxford regularly, so I offer tutoring around both London and Oxfordshire. I tutor Maths and Science at any level from primary to GCSE, as well as Maths A level. I am passionate about making these subjects accessible and clear to students and have 100+ hours of tutoring experience. I achieved A grades in Maths, Further Maths and Physics at A-level, 10 A grades at GCSE and I am really familiar with the exam board specifications. Aside from tutoring, in the past I have volunteered as a cricket coach and ran a chess club.

I have an enhanced DBS check and am happy to provide references (please contact me if interested in this information).

Tutoring Approach: My tutoring approach focuses on supporting school lessons, explaining trickier topics, going through homeworks and past papers, and coaching exam technique. The format of lessons is subject to the preferences of students/parents but in general you can expect me to bring question sets and teaching material to each session, aligned with a topic plan/needs of the student, which we go through interactively. For students looking for a weekly tutor, I generally start by going through your course specification with you to understand areas of strength and weakness, before systematically tackling problem areas, then focusing on past papers and exam technique in the run-up to exams. For short-term/one-off tuition, we discuss topic areas of interest online ahead of sessions.

Please message me if you would like to know any other details about my teaching style, or are interested in booking a lesson!

Specialisms

Footer Graphic